Skip to content

Macklemore, the New Testament, and the Hand of God

June 28, 2013

By now, I hope that everyone in the world has heard the new Macklemore song: Same Love, featuring the most heartbreaking chorus by Mary Lambert.  Now, I’m posting here, because I tried about 6 times to post how much I love this on Facebook.  I just couldn’t start that flame war.

So, I’m saying it right here.  It may be blasphemous, but I feel the spirit every time I hear that song.  Every single time.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with mormon terminology, “feel the spirit” roughly means to feel the force of God pouring out through you.  Everyone experiences it differently, and can even experience it differently throughout their life.  I know the feeling.  It’s the feeling parents have when they look at their newborn child.  It’s the feeling you feel when the storm parts around you to suddenly reveal a moment of glorious stillness.  Sorry for the lengthy description, but it is kind of beyond description, thinking about that feeling brings back a shadow of it, and it tends to make me ramble just so I can keep it sticking around.

The point is, very rarely do I encounter something that can call it forth so viscerally, almost at command.  If I leave that song on repeat on my computer, I almost get dizzy from the tingles and emotions rolling through me.

Maybe, because the chorus doesn’t just resonate with the gay pride issue.  Not to demean that.  I am with Macklemore – No freedom until we’re equal.  But it’s more than that.

The words “I can’t change, even if I tried, even if I wanted to.” – are more than a simple issue.  And I don’t think Macklemore would take offense to that idea.  The song is about acceptance.  Not tolerance, but acceptance.  Loving so much, that you only want the other person to be happy, regardless of how they achieve that.

I don’t know if I’ve spoken before about growing up feeling “other,” in the mormon community.  But it wasn’t because of anything that I could change.  It wasn’t even anything that I wanted to change.  It was who I was.  I was too outspoken, not ladylike, not superficial enough.  I couldn’t pass as a ‘good mormon girl’.  I swore, and I refused to deny dark truths.  My family had been the ‘troubled’ family.

Even then, I wanted only one thing: for it to be okay for me to BE ME.  Not some cleaner, purer version of me, but me – complete with all the brokenness.  Not only did I not think I could change – I didn’t want to.

Anyway, all of that is a really long ramble to get to my real point: What happened to the acceptance of the early church?  Oddly enough, I understand it.  We saw it over and over in scripture – when the news of God was still new and fresh, too many problems arose.  Religion became a list of rules, recipes and rites.  Too busy trying to meet that bottom line, the church became tangled up and forgot the deeper truths.

That’s when the New Testament came in.  In both the Bible and the Book of Mormon there is a drastic shift at Christ’s coming.  The church changes.  The teaching changes.  Christ comes and reminds the people of the original teachings.  Of love.

Thats what I want.  I want a New Testament style revival of my church.  I want them to put the acceptance and love back in.  Because I hate that it is my Christian friends that make me not want to post about how much I love a song about love.  Ha!  And I finally shamed myself into it. Take that!

Anyway, thats the disconnected Mormon rant.  Next time, it will be a little more gathered…

Hopefully 😉

From → Serious Musings

4 Comments
  1. Roth Mclear permalink

    The truth of the matter is this – The gospel is founded on one central truth. We all have a Heavenly Father who knows us and loves us unconditionally and completely. I agree the church as a whole has lost most of that.

    Also before the two revivals of the religion many many people died.

  2. Love this song, love the “rant”, and pretty sure I’m going to love your blog, if this post is any indication.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

